top of page

Is it Enough?

The prayer of a righteous person is powerful and effective ~ James 5:16


I think we can all relate to the fact that prayer, at some point, has proven powerful right at the moment we needed it. Christian or not, I think we can go back to a place when all we had or all we were left to do was to pray.


I‘m the type of person that prays those ‘little prayers’. You know the ones I’m talking about. Praying that the line at the store is short, or not busy at all, praying for a parking spot, praying that you don’t bump into your least favorite person or someone you’re trying to avoid a conversation with. You know, little prayers.


And if you’re laughing at me right now, let me just tell you that no miracle is too small. The line will seemingly become shorter, the car will back out of the spot, kind of a Red Sea parting modern situation.


In a realer sense, if I may say so, there have been times when I didn’t believe that prayer was enough. Sometimes, I still don’t. Sometimes all I want is a big manifestation or miracle, or even just a sign.


There are times when someone has said, “praying for you” and I didn’t believe them. Not because I didn‘t think they wouldn’t, but because I wanted something much more than a simple prayer. Because I didn’t think that would be enough.


*** pause for judging ***


And we’re back.


Last week, I felt this way. I was stressed and just wanting a sign, that everything was going to be okay. I had been praying for peace all week, and I wasn’t feeling it. I was frustrated.

I didn’t want to be frustrated but I couldn’t help it.


Sometimes, the right words come at the moment we need them most.


James 5:16


I may question the power that people’s prayers have on me; I may question the strength and effectiveness of my own prayers, especially when I don’t see answers.


But that doesn’t mean that they’re not working.


Cause I’ve seen them work before. And I’ll see them work again.






29 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

New...

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page